

DO THE RIGHT THING OF MIAMI, INC.

C/O CITY OF MIAMI POLICE DEPARTMENT 400 N.W. 2ND AVENUE / ROOM 201-J / MIAMI, FL 33128

Phone: 305-603-6957/Website: www.dotherightthinginc.org

TWITTER/INSTAGRAM: @DTRTMIAMI

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE CONTACT:

Ariadna Espinosa Executive Director 305-603-6957

STUDENTS HONORED BY THE DO THE RIGHT THING PROGRAM AND MIAMI POLICE FOR POSITIVE CHOICES

MIAMI, FL – January 23, 2024 – As school safety takes the national spotlight, the Do The Right Thing Program will honor 10 outstanding students out of over 800 nominees, who serve as an inspiration to the community and are being honored for doing the right thing by Miami Police. Students will be honored for their stellar actions including community service, intervening in crisis situations, and reporting dangerous activity. The ceremony takes place on Wednesday, January 24, 2024 at 10:00 am in the auditorium of the Chief Clarence Dickson Police College, 350 NW 2nd Avenue.

Do The Right Thing, Inc. is a non-profit community-based program operating in cooperation with the Miami Police Department and other local law enforcement. The program serves school age youth throughout Miami-Dade County by recognizing positive accomplishments and behavior. Each month of the school year students are recognized for their positive decisions and rewarded with prizes including a tablet, plaque, a Do The Right Thing t-shirt and bumper sticker, two tickets to a Miami Marlins game, a free pizza from Papa John's, gift cards, passes to Zoo Miami and Island Queen Cruises, and letters from United States Senators Rick Scott and Marco Rubio as well as Congresswoman Maria Elvira Salazar. Two Special Recognition students are also selected and win trips to Rapids Water Park and Washington, D.C. Since its inception, Do The Right Thing has directly impacted over 270,000 youth across Miami-Dade County. Building positive relationships between police and youth at an early age can make all the difference!

###

Board of Directors

Teresa Enriquez President

Juanita Walker Vice President

Marie Jo Toussaint Secretary

Marie Gouin Treasurer

Advisory Director

Trina Robinson NBC 6

Founding Directors

Carol McCracken Marzell Smith

Advisory Board

Daniel Alfonso
Dori Alvarez
Jaquelyn Calzadilla
Commissioner Joe Carollo
Christine Del Portillo
Jacqueline Gonzalez-Cuba
Nicole Lauren
lan Moffett
Lea Padron
Commissioner Manolo Reyes
Akua Scott

Selection Committee

Kenia Fallat Sergio Guerrero Rosa Fernander Weslyne Lewis Francois Richard Perez Aileen Rodriguez

Staff

Ariadna Espinosa Executive Director

Dayana Sanchez Administrative Assistant